top of page

Mortal Lease

Mortal Lease is an eight-part suite composed to Edith Wharton's (1862 - 1937) sonnets written in 1908. The music explodes the poems' tensions of love, lust and devotion to symphonic pictures and floats in dramatic improvisations.

Josefiina Vannesluoma, vocals, composition

Mikael Myrskog, piano

Nathan Francis, double bass

Ville Luukkonen, drums


"But in the streams of my belated blood           

Flow all the warring potions love has quaffed"


(Extracted from the Mortal Lease III by Edith Wharton)


bottom of page