top of page

Mikko Sarvanne Garden


Composer and multi-instrumentalist Mikko Sarvanne's new group, Mikko Sarvanne Garden, transports the listener to an alternate reality: a garden where waves of contemporary vocal music, warmth of Nordic jazz, and sound art, reminiscent of musique concrète, all echo and glimmer together. Formed in 2020, the ensemble comprises three vocalists, a cello, a double bass, percussions and electronics. These elements whittle and mould time itself, creating joint sharp moments of rhythm as well as eternally flowing and stretching mass of sound; cathedrals of ancient voices, glow of cello and bass, as if the Earth's crust itself were breathing. Sarvanne's compositions combine vivid vision and control with the freedom and peace of the Garden troupe.


The group's debut album will be released in October 2022. Entitled 'Heräämisen valkea myrsky' -'The White Storm of Awakening', the album is based on Erkka Filander's poetry collection by the same name (Poesia 2013). The poems in this vivaciously blooming book have filtered deep into the music of Mikko Sarvanne Garden, appearing in the titles, lyrics as well as in the mise en scène of musical events. 'Heräämisen valkea myrsky' reflects existence like a landscape on the surface of a pond.


Mikko Sarvanne - composition, electronics

Josefiina Vannesluoma - vocals

Selma Savolainen - vocals

Virva Immonen- vocals

Sirja Nironen - cello

Mikael Saastamoinen - double bass

Jesse Ojajärvi - percussions


all musicians: objects, percussion, vocals

  • Grey Spotify Icon
  • Grey Facebook Icon
  • Grey Instagram Icon
  • Grey YouTube Icon
bottom of page